All About Cities in Texas!

Texas Flag
Accordimg to Alcheh, J. (n.d.) People first came to the area that is now Texas at least 16,700 years ago. Thousands of years later Native American tribes, including the Akokisa, Karankawa, Mogollon, and Comanche, lived on the land. Spanish settlers promoting Christianity, called missionaries, were some of the first Europeans to live in what is now Texas. In 1821 Mexico took control of the land, eventually calling the area Coahuila y Tejas. But in 1835 settlers living in this province—often just called Texas—rebelled, beginning the Texas Revolution. The rebels suffered a terrible defeat by the Mexican army at the 1836 battle at the Alamo, a mission in San Antonio. But the loss only inspired the settlers to fight on. With a cry of “Remember the Alamo!” many joined the rebel army, and soon Mexico gave up. Texas became an independent nation called the Republic of Texas in 1836. But fending off hostile tribes and Mexican troops was difficult for a small country, and Texas joined the United States in 1845. In 1861 Texas left the Union and rejoined after the Civil War ended in 1870.

On this website you will find information about the 3 different cities listed below in Texas.

  1. Fort Worth
  2. Dallas
  3. Austin

State Symbols are provided by Texipedia, U. (n.d.).

State Symbol Name Year Incorporated Photo
State Bird Northern Mocking Bird 1927  Northern Mocking Bird
State Flower The Bluebonnet 1901 Bluebonnet
State Insect The Monarch Butterfly 1995 Monarch Butterfly

For more information fill out the form below.

Please Type Your Questions Here